Teaching tradition or traditional teaching? – The area of conflict of the modern Bharata Natyam dancer


This blog is a revised excerpt from:

Bansal-Tönz, Scharmila: Examinations of the songs of Purandaradāsa (1484 – 1564) and their modern reception in Indian dance Bharata Natyam. Zurich: University, 2018.

Dissertation at the University of Zurich, 2017

© Copyright by Sharmila Bansal-Tönz. All rights reserved.


The author as a young dancer, 8.10.1993 (picture: A. Tönz)

Modern Bharata Natyam is part of a South Indian performance culture that has developed a peculiar way of self-perception and self-representation in the past. This is due to the way in which this performance tradition reflects itself: it is an art with a partially reconstructed, partially ideologized history. It claims to be regarded as an elitist art form and builds on a historical idea of “Indianness”. Therefore, in the art of Bharata Natyam there’s a coexistence of emphasizing an idealized self-image and simultaneously referring to an authentic tradition of antique origin. It’s a complex interplay of authenticity, ideology, classicism and history.1 The following remarks describe this artistic-historical conflict with the example of my own dance and music education.

In memory of B.K. Chandramouli

B. K. Chandramouli

On 20 July 2018, one of the great Mridangam artists of classical South Indian music died. B. K. Chandramouli was a member of a great family of artists and a master of his craft.

In the mid-1980s, B.K. Chandramouli came to Switzerland for the first time as part of an invitation from my mother Vijaya Rao and her Indian dance school Nateschwara. Over the years their acquaintance grew into a good friendship. He therefore became a father figure to me and a loving teacher, whom I incredibly admire.

Dancing for the brain

“Good for body and mind” is a common slogan that you read on flyers or posters advertising dance classes. But there is more to this statement than just being a bold phrase. I surely don’t have to explain the fact that dance training is good for your body. Dance challenges our body in both stamina and strength maximization. It is therefore as effective and healthy as a good interval training or well-composed fitness programs. Read more about this in my blog about the ideal dance training.

However, how much influence dance has on our brain has been studied scientifically at the University of Maryland and the University of Houston. The results of this three-year study came out last year and confirms what I have experienced as a dancer since long. The fact that dance has a positive effect on our cognitive performance is obvious when looking at elderly dancers who still show incredible creative power even in old age. I am thinking in particular of Anna Halprin, the great American dance pioneer. I saw videos of her when she was over 80 years old, but mentally she appeared like a middle-aged woman of maybe half her age.

Dancing and learning to dance is a lot of work for the brain.

The aforementioned American study of dancers and their brain thus confirmed this experience of mine. Dancers’ brains are not only working in the area of ​​movement and motor skills,  dancing is an all-encompassing brain activity. A dancemagazine.com report cited Karen Kohn Bradley, a professor emeritus at the University of Maryland Dance Department, who points out that in dance, aspects such as space, time, process, expression, etc., must be considered simultaneously. So, dancing is multi-tasking, or it at least trains us to do so.

Das Spannungsfeld der modernen Bharata-Natyam-Tänzerin: Lehre der Tradition oder traditionelle Lehre?


Der vorliegende Blog ist ein überarbeiteter Auszug aus:

Bansal-Tönz, Scharmila: Untersuchungen der Lieder Purandaradāsas (1484 – 1564) und ihrer modernen Rezeption im indischen Tanz Bharata Natyam. Zürich : Universität, 2018.

Dissertation an der Universität Zürich, 2017

© Copyright by Sharmila Bansal-Tönz. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. All rights reserved.


Die Autorin als junge Tänzerin, 8.10.1993 (Bild: A. Tönz)

Das moderne Bharata Natyam ist Teil einer südindischen Performance-Kultur, die in der Vergangenheit eine eigentümliche Art der Selbstwahrnehmung und -darstellung entwickelt hat. Dies begründet sich in der Art, wie sich diese Performance-Tradition selbst reflektiert: Es ist eine teilweise rekonstruierte, teilweise ideologisierte Geschichte, die den Anspruch einer elitären Kunstdarstellung hat und auf einer historisch geprägten Idee von «Indianness» aufbaut. Im indischen Tanz Bharata Natyam besteht daher ein Nebeneinander eines idealisierten Selbstbildnisses und die gleichzeitige Berufung auf eine authentische Tradition – ein komplexes Zusammenspiel von Authentizität, Ideologie, Klassizismus und Geschichte.1 Die folgenden Ausführungen beschreiben dieses künstlerisch-historische Spannungsfeld am Beispiel meiner eigenen tänzerischen und musikalischen Ausbildung. 

Zum Gedenken an B. K. Chandramouli

B. K. Chandramouli

Am 20. Juli 2018 ist einer der grossen Mridangam-Künstler der klassischen südindischen Musik gestorben. B. K. Chandramouli war Mitglied einer grossartigen Künstlerfamilie und ein Meister seines Fachs.

Mitte der 1980er Jahre kam B. K. Chandramouli erstmals in die Schweiz, im Rahmen einer Einladung meiner Mutter Vijaya Rao und ihrer indischen Tanzschule Nateschwara. Die Bekanntschaft zwischen ihr und Chandramouli war über die Jahre von einer guten Freundschaft geprägt. So wurde er für mich zur Vaterfigur und einem liebevollen Lehrer, den ich unglaublich schätze.

Tanzen für den Kopf

«Gut für Körper und Geist» ist ein gängiger Slogan, den man gerne auf Flyer oder Poster für angepriesene Tanzkurse lesen kann. Doch dahinter steckt weit mehr, als nur eine plakative Phrase. Dass Tanzen gesund für den Körper ist, diesen Umstand muss ich hier kaum weiter ausführen. Tanz fordert unseren Körper sowohl in Ausdauer als auch in Kraftmaximierung. Tanzen ist daher so effektiv und gesund, wie ein gutes Intervalltraining oder vielseitig gestaltete Fitnessprogramme. Siehe dazu auch meinen Blog über das ideale Tanztraining.

Wieviel Einfluss Tanz auf unseren Geist – also unser Gehirn – hat, dies untersuchte man wissenschaftlich an der Universität von Maryland und der Universität in Houston. Die Ergebnisse dieser dreijährigen Studie sind letztes Jahr herausgekommen. Sie bestätigen das, was mir als Tänzerin schon lange klar war. Es ist bspw. sofort offensichtlich, wie positiv sich Tanz auf die kognitive Leistung auswirkt, wenn man sich betagte Tänzerinnen anschaut, die auch in hohem Alter noch unglaubliche Schaffenskraft an den Tag legen. Ich denke da spontan an Anna Halprin, die grosse amerikanische Tanzpionierin. Ich sah Videos von ihr, da war sie weit über 80 Jahre alt, wirkte geistig aber wie eine Frau von der Hälfte ihres Alters.

Tanzen und Tanz lernen bedeutet viel Kopfarbeit.

Die erwähnte amerikanische Studie über Tänzer und ihr Gehirn bestätigte also diese Erfahrung von mir – und vermutlich allen Tänzerinnen: Das Gehirn wird im Tanz nicht nur im Bereich der Bewegung und Motorik, sondern allumfassend gefordert. In einem Bericht der Tanzzeitschrift dancemagazine.com wird Karen Kohn Bradley zitiert, eine pensionierte Professorin des Tanzdepartements der Uni Maryland. Sie weist darauf hin, dass man im Tanz Aspekte wie Raum, Zeit, Ablauf, Ausdruck usw. gleichzeitig beachten muss. Tanzen ist also Multi-tasking, oder es trainiert zumindest unsere Fähigkeit dazu.